Mammal Diversity

What makes a mammal?

Middle Ear Bones

All mammals have three middle ear bones: the malleus (hammer), incus (anvil), and stapes (stirrup).

These bones conduct sound physically from the surrounding environment via the ear drum into the inner ear, where it is picked up by acoustic nerves. In other vertebrates, these same bones belong to the lower jaw or the bottom of the cranium (main, upper part of skull).

Middle Ear Bones

Back to Mammal Diversity