Staff Directory

Burke Museum Staff

Burke Museum staff members actively conduct research, care for specimens and objects, and create and deliver programs at the museum and throughout Washington state. Do you have a general inquiry? Here’s how to get in touch with us:

General Inquiries / Reception Desk

Monday–Friday, 8 am – 5 pm
206.543.7907
theburke@uw.edu
Or, fill out our Online Inquiry Form

Admissions Desk

Daily, 8 am – 5 pm
206.616.3962

Staff Directory

Key Contacts

Membership • burkemem@uw.edu • 206.616.6057
Reception Desk • theburke@uw.edu • 206.543.7907
Traveling Exhibits • burkereg@uw.edu • 206.616.7318
Registrar • burkereg@uw.edu • 206.616.7318
Museum Store • bmastore@uw.edu • 206.685.0909
Education Office • burked@uw.edu • 206.543.5591
Burke Café • uwdining@uw.edu • 206.543.9854
Admissions Desk • theburke@uw.edu • 206.616.3962
Media Relations • burkepr@uw.edu • 206.543.9762

Administration

Eldon Tam • New Burke Project Director • eldontam@uw.edu • 206.616.9364
Elly Bangs • IT Technician • elbangs@uw.edu
Emelia Harris • Volunteer Manager • esharris@uw.edu • 206.543.3989
Hally Swift • Director of Finance & Operations • hallys@uw.edu • 206.543.8465
Jamie Lee • HR Manager • jamiecl@uw.edu • 206.543.6846
Josh Larios • IT Manager • burkeit@uw.edu; jdlarios@uw.edu • 206.616.6286
Julie K. Stein • Executive Director • jkstein@uw.edu • 206.543.2784
Olga Davis • Payroll Coordinator • odavis@uw.edu • 206.543.5047
Polly Olsen • Tribal Liasion • polly@uw.edu • 206.543.5946
Richelle Dickerson • Executive Assistant to Director • burkeadm@uw.edu • 206.543.5570
Sandy Marsden • Fiscal Specialist • smarsden@uw.edu • 206.685.5265

Arachnology + Entomology

Rod Crawford • Curatorial Associate • tiso@uw.edu • 206.543.9853

Bill Holm Center

Bridget Johnson • Assistant Director for the Bill Holm Center • bkj86@uw.edu • 206.543.5344
Haliehana Stepetin • Administrative Assistant & Regional Outreach Coordinator • hstep@uw.edu • 206.221.9216
Justin McCarthy • Bill Holm Center Collections Outreach Coordinator • swinumt@uw.edu • 206.221.9216
Kathryn Bunn-Marcuse • Curator of Northwest Native Art, Director of Bill Holm Center • kbunn@uw.edu • 206.543.5595

Botany + Herbarium

Ben Legler • Informatics Specialist • blegler@uw.edu • 206.221.5234
David Giblin • Collections Manager • dgiblin@uw.edu • 206.543.1682
Richard Olmstead • Curator of the Herbarium • olmstead@uw.edu • 206.543.8850

Communications

Alaina Fuld • Director of External Affairs • smitham@uw.edu • 206.543.9762
Alejandro Valdivieso • Marketing Assistant • 206.616.7538
Andrea Godinez • Public Relations Manager • burkepr@uw.edu • 206.616.7538
Cathy Morris • Marketing & Communications Manager • brittca@uw.edu • 206.616.9621
Lindsey Burns • Community Campaign Coordinator • ltburns@uw.edu • 206.543.4922
Melissa Bailey • Government Relations Director • bailey22@uw.edu • 206.543.5946
Rachel Ormiston • Marketing Coordinator • rormisto@uw.edu • 206.616.7538

Culture (Archaeology + Ethnology)

Archaeology Outreach • archy@uw.edu • 206.685.3849 ext. 1
Ashley McClelland • Rights & Reproductions Manager • ashleyvm@uw.edu • 206.543.6623
Bill Holm • Curator Emeritus • bholm@uw.edu • 206.543.5595
Bridget Johnson • Assistant Director for the Bill Holm Center • bkj86@uw.edu • 206.543.5344
Glenys Ong • NAGPRA Collections Assistant • glenys@uw.edu • 206.685.3849 (ext. 2)
Haliehana Stepetin • Administrative Assistant & Regional Outreach Coordinator • hstep@uw.edu • 206.221.9216
Haliehana Stepetin • Regional Outreach Coordinator • hstep@uw.edu • 206.221.9216
Holly Barker • Curator for Oceanic and Asian Culture • hmbarker@uw.edu • 206.616.6891
Jack Johnson • Archaeology Curation Services Manager • anamgorm@uw.edu • 206.543.7696
James Nason • Curator Emeritus of American & Pacific Ethnology • jnason@uw.edu • 206.543.9680
Justin McCarthy • Bill Holm Center Collections Outreach Coordinator • swinumt@uw.edu • 206.221.9216
Kathryn Bunn-Marcuse • Curator of Northwest Native Art, Director of Bill Holm Center • kbunn@uw.edu • 206.543.5595
Kathy Dougherty • Collections Manager • kad33@uw.edu • 206.543.6623
Laura Phillips • Collections Manager • lphill@uw.edu • 206.685.3849 ext. 2
Lauren Banquer • Ethnology Collections Move Assistant • lbanquer@uw.edu • 206.543.6623
Molly Winslow • Ethnology Collections Move Assistant • mrw36@uw.edu • 206.543.6623
Peter Lape • Curator of Archaeology • plape@uw.edu • 206.685.3849 ext. 2; 206.685.9364
Rebecca Andrews • Collections Manager • randrew@uw.edu • 206.543.6623
Robin K. Wright • Emerita Curator of Native American Art • wright@uw.edu • 206.543.5595
Siri Linz • Assistant Collections Manager • linzs@uw.edu • 206.685.3849 ext. 2
Steve Harrell • Adjunct Curator of Asian Ethnology • stevehar@uw.edu • 206.543.9608
Sven Haakanson • Curator of Native American Anthropology • svenh@uw.edu • 206.543.3210

Development + Membership

Amanda Gomez • Associate Director of Development • apgomez@uw.edu • 206.616.9865
Anna O'Donnell • Director of Development • acfrey@uw.edu • 206.543.9539
Bryndis Jonsson • Events Coordinator • bjonsson@uw.edu • 206.543.0421
Courtney Davis • Membership Manager • cedavis2@uw.edu • 206.616.6057
Darby Riley • Manager of Corporate and Foundation Relations • driley2@uw.edu • 206.616.1550​
Ellen Ferguson • Community Relations Director • 206.543.5115
Jenna Pieczonka • Campaign Assistant • pieczj@uw.edu • 206.616.8870
Lindsey Burns • Community Campaign Coordinator • ltburns@uw.edu • 206.543.4922
Phoebe Keleman • Annual Giving & Campaign Specialist • pkeleman@uw.edu • 206.221.8530

Education

Addison Frandle • Education Assistant • afrandle@uw.edu • 206.543.5591
Andy Clark • Youth and Family Programs Manager • aeclark@uw.edu • 206.543.5591
Arryn Davis • Education Assistant • arrynd@uw.edu • 206.543.5591
Briana Nino • Manager of Offsite Programs • burked@uw.edu • 206.685.4339
Charlotte Basch • Native American Education Specialist • cbasch@uw.edu • 206.616.2430
Dana Beaudry-Elsner • Education Assistant • danab4@uw.edu • 206.543.5591
Edward Stone • Office Coordinator • eostone@uw.edu • 206.543.5591
Katharine Canning • BurkeMobile Manager • canningk@uw.edu • 206.543.5591
Maureen Carlisle • Education Assistant • carlim3@uw.edu • 206.543.5591; 206.543.1922
Mike Smith • Manager of Onsite Programs • smithmg@uw.edu • 206.543.5591
Tara McCauley • Director of Education • tmccaul3@uw.edu • 206.685.7154

Exhibits

Aletheia Wittman • Collections Interpreter • awittman@uw.edu • 206.221.7647
Kate Fernandez • Director of Interpretation • kfern@uw.edu • 206-685-1731
Melissa Kennedy • Exhibit Coordinator • melisske@uw.edu • 206.543.5954
Paula Sweet • Exhibit Fabricator • sweetp3@uw.edu • 206.543.5954

Genetic Resources

Sharon Birks • Collections Manager • sbirks@uw.edu • 206.221.8462

Herpetology

Adam Leaché • Curator of Genetic Resources and Herpetology • leache@uw.edu • 206.685.7466
Charles Linkem • Collections Manager • cwlinkem@uw.edu
Peter Miller • Collections Manager • pmiller1@uw.edu • 206.920.9062

Ichthyology

Katherine Maslenikov • Collections Manager • pearsonk@uw.edu • 206.543.3816
Luke Tornabene • Curator of Fishes • ltorna1@uw.edu • 206.685.4254
Ted Pietsch • Emeritus Curator of Fishes • twp@uw.edu • 206.543.8923

Malacology

Melissa Frey • Collections Manager • freyma@uw.edu • 206.221.7170

Mammalogy

Jeff Bradley • Collections Manager • jebrad@uw.edu • 206.685.7417
Jim Kenagy • Curator Emeritus of Mammalogy • kenagy@uw.edu • 206.719.1576
Sharlene Santana • Curator of Mammals • ssantana@uw.edu • 206.616.1781; 206.221.6488 (lab)
Virginia Rausch • Affiliate Curator of Mammalogy • rausch@uw.edu • 206.685.7417

Museology

Dylan High • Internship and Student Events Coordinator • highd@uw.edu • 206.221.0713
Jessica Luke • Director of the Museology Graduate Program • jjluke@uw.edu • 206.685.3496
Kristine Morrissey • Lecturer • morriss8@uw.edu • 206.685.8207
Lisa Hayes • Museology Program Assistant • llhayes@uw.edu • 206.616.1437
Maya Farrar • Museology Operations Manager • procel@uw.edu • 206.616.828
Wilson O'Donnell • Associate Director • wilsonod@uw.edu • 206.543.4642

Operations

Andrea Iaroc • Facilities Assistant • aiaroc@uw.edu • 206.543.2525
Lauren Monroe • Facilities Manager • lkmonroe@uw.edu • 206.543.2525
Scot Augustson • Operations Assistant • theburke@uw.edu • 206.543.7907

Ornithology

Chris Wood • Collections Manager • puffinus@uw.edu • 206.543.1668
Eugene Makela • Preparator • emakela@uw.edu • 206.543.1668
John Klicka • Curator of Birds • klicka@uw.edu • 206.685.7201
Rob Bryson • Postdoc • brysonjr@uw.edu
Rob Faucett • Collections Manager • rfaucett@uw.edu • 206.543.1668
Sievert Rohwer • Curator Emeritus of Ornithology • rohwer@uw.edu • 206.543.4066

Paleontology + Geology

Bax R. Barton • Research Associate • baxqrc@uw.edu • 206.543.0569
Bev Witte • Curatorial Associate • 206.543.1856
Bruce Crowley • Fossil Preparator • bcrowley@uw.edu • 206.543.1856
Caroline Strömberg • Curator of Paleobotany • caestrom@uw.edu • 206.543.0495; 206.543.1687 (lab)
Christian Sidor • Associate Director of Research, Curator of Vertebrate Paleontology • casidor@uw.edu • 206.221.4181; 206.221.3285 (lab)
Elizabeth A. Nesbitt • Curator of Invertebrate Paleontology & Micropaleontology • lnesbitt@uw.edu • 206.543.5949
Greg Wilson • Curator of Vertebrate Paleontology • gpwilson@uw.edu • 206.543.8917
Meredith Rivin • Collections Manager • mrivin@uw.edu • 206.685.0374
Ron Eng • Collections Manager • rceng@uw.edu • 206.543.6776
Ruth Martin • Postdoc • ruthm2@uw.edu • 206.543.1856
Sara Legler • EPICC TCN Coordinator • slegler@uw.edu

Registrar

Hollye Keister • Registrar • hgunter@uw.edu; burkereg@uw.edu • 206.616.7318
Jess Milhausen • Assistant Registrar • milhause@uw.edu • 206.616.7318

Visitor Services

Emily Kreidler • Admissions Assistant Manager • eak5@uw.edu • 206.616.3962
Jason Vanhee • Visitor Services Manager • jvanhee@uw.edu • 206.616.8616
Sarah Bettis • useburke@uw.edu • 206.221.7083
Back to Top