Burke Museum Home

Press Release

Detailed information on the exhibits, research projects, and programs tailored for journalists. For more information or questions please contact Burke Museum Public Relations.

July 25, 2012

2012 ICP Awards Winners Announced

Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture
International Conservation Photography Awards
Through November 25, 2012

Seattle – The International Conservation Photography Awards and the Burke Museum are pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 ICP Awards. See the winning photographs at the ICP Awards exhibit, on view now through November 25 at the Burke Museum. The winning images can also be seen in the 2012 Gallery at www.icpawards.com.

Over 75 photos were chosen from more than 1,500 images submitted by amateur and professional photographers from 15 countries across the globe. A panel of five judges selected winning photographs in each of the nine categories. The photographs are conservation-focused, chosen in categories such as Wildlife, Landscape, Underwater, and Community at Risk, which examines environmental threats to urban areas. Capturing beautiful moments in the natural world from the Arctic to the South Seas, the photos connect us to the tiniest of creatures and enormous environmental changes. The competition and its award-winning photos inspire, educate, and encourage us all to consider our impacts on the world’s natural resources.


Canon Award

Paul Bannick


Director’s Award

Stefano Pesarelli


Community at Risk
1st Place: Scot Hoyle
2nd Place: Tom Reese
Honorable Mentions:
Alex Wong
Marinz, Javie Sanchez


Documenting a Conservation Project

1st Place: Cheryl-Samanatha Owen
2nd Place: Justin Gilligan
3rd Place: Neil Aldridge


Natural Environment at Risk

1st Place:  Justin Gilligan
2nd Place:  TJ Watt
3rd Place:  Peter Mather
Honorable Mentions:
Phil Colla
Sandesh Kadur

Susanne Weissenberger
Micheal Eastman
Chris Linder

Puget Sound at Risk

1st Place: Douglas Orton
2nd Place: Tom Reese
Honorable Mention:
Dayton Knipher


Top Three:
Timothy Brooks
Sam Edmonds
Cameron Karsten
Honorable Mentions:
William Freedberg
Jackson Lee
Donavon Preiser



1st Place: Harry Ableman
2nd Place: Kelli Breeton-Fairall
3rd Place: Cynthia Flynn
Honorable Mentions:
Tom Reese
Sherena Al Suwaidi
Cynthia Flynn
Andas Szekely
Chris Linder

1st Place: Robin Black
2nd Place: Vadim Balakin
3rd Place: Sean Bagshaw

Honorable Mentions:
Georg Popp
Orvar Thorgeirsson
Christoph Fischer
Cristobal Serrano
Neil Aldridge
Vadim Balakin
Fortunato Gatto



1st Place: Cristobal Serrano
2nd Place: Jim Patterson
3rd Place: Jon Cornforth
Honorable Mentions:
Ryan Hellard
Franco Banfi
Alex Varani

Todd Mintz



1st Place: Cristobal Serrano
2nd Place: Brian Joffe
3rd Place: Carol Freeman
Honorable Mentions:
Robin Moore
Jon Cornforth
Peter Mather
Lori Foreman  
Kerry Griechen
Phillippe Jean-Petit-Matile
Justin Reznick

The 2012 International Conservation Photography Awards exhibit is organized by the Burke Museum in partnership with the ICP Awards. The exhibit is sponsored by 4Culture and the Seattle Office of Arts and Cultural Affairs, with support from: Kym Aughtry; Hugh and Jane Ferguson Foundation; The Mountaineers Foundation, Carl Skoog Memorial Fund; U.S. Bancorp Foundation; The Peg & Rick Young Foundation.

ICP Awards sponsors: Art 4 Vision Foundation; Art Wolfe; The Bullitt Foundation; Canon; Epson; Getty Images; Museum Quality Framing; Puget Soundkeeper Alliance; Robert P. Rotella Foundation; the Washington Environmental Council.

High resolution images and interviews available, contact burkepr@uw.edu.

#   #   #

The Burke Museum is located on the University of Washington campus, at the corner of NE 45th St. and 17th Ave. NE. Hours are 10 am to 5 pm daily, and until 8 pm on first Thursdays. Admission: $10 general, $8 senior, $7.50 student/ youth. Admission is free to children four and under, Burke members, UW students, faculty, and staff. Admission is free to the public on the first Thursday of each month. Prorated parking fees are $15 and partially refundable upon exit if paid in cash. Call 206-543-5590 or visit www.burkemuseum.org. The Burke Museum is an American Association of Museums accredited museum.

To request disability accommodation, contact the Disability Services Office at: 206.543.6450 (voice), 206.543.6452 (TTY), 206.685.7264 (fax), or email at dso@u.washington.edu. The University of Washington makes every effort to honor disability accommodation requests. Requests can be responded to most effectively if received as far in advance of the event as possible, preferably at least 10 days.


(206) 543-9762; FAX (206) 616-1274