Burke Museum Home

People

The Burke Archaeology Department staff is happy to help you with your questions. Before contacting us please check out the Who should I contact? section so that you can be sure to reach the person with the expertise to answer your questions.


Staff:

Dr. Peter Lape, Ph.D.
Curator of Archaeology
Associate Professor, Anthropology
206-685-2282
plape@u.washington.edu

Laura S. Phillips, M.A.
Archaeology Collections Manager
206-685-3849 x2
lphill@u.washington.edu

Siri Linz, M.A.
Assistant Collections Manager
206-685-3849 x2
linzs@u.washington.edu

Jess Milhausen, M.S.
NAGPRA Coordinator
206-685-3849 x2
milhause@u.washington.edu

Archaeology Public Outreach Coordinator
206-685-3849 x1
archy@u.washington.edu

Who should I contact?

Artifact Identification:
Archaeology Public Outreach Coordinator or check the Burke Museum Annual Events calendar for information about the Burke Museum’s annual Artifact Identification Day.

Collections Access: 
Laura Phillips

Curatorial Services for CRM firms and government agencies: 
Steve Denton

Donations: Laura Phillips

Education: Archaeology Public Outreach Coordinator or visit the Burke Museum Education page

Repatriation/Human Remains:
Jess Milhausen 


Mailing Address for all Staff:

Burke Museum 
Archaeology Department 
University of Washington 
Box 353010
Seattle, WA 98195-3010

Fax: 206-685-3039

Working in the field

Adjunct & Affiliate Curators:
Although they can rarely be found in the Museum, our Adjunct and Affiliate Curators are a great help to the Archaeology Department. They are specialists in their fields who sometimes lend us their expertise and we list them below in appreciation of their service to the museum and community.

Adjunct Curators:

Dr. Angela Close, Ph.D.
Adjunct Curator of Archaeology
Professor, Anthropology
206-543-2078
aeclose@u.washington.edu

Dr. Ben Fitzhugh, Ph.D.
Adjunct Curator of Archaeology
Associate Professor, Anthropology
206-543-9604
fitzhugh@u.washington.edu

Dr. Ben Marwick, Ph.D
Adjunct Curator of Archaeology
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
206 552-9450
bmarwick@uw.edu

Dr. Don Grayson, Ph.D.
Adjunct Curator of Archaeology
Professor, Anthropology
206-543-5587
grayson@u.washington.edu

Dr. Patricia Kramer, Ph.D.
Adjunct Curator of Archaeology
Associate Professor, Anthropology
206-660-6407
pakramer@u.washington.edu

Affiliate Curators:

Dr. Robert Kopperl, Ph.D.
Affiliate Curator of Archaeology
Senior Archaeologist and Principal Investigator
SWCA Environmental Consultants
206-781-1909
rkopperl@swca.com

Dr. Philippe D. LeTourneau, Ph.D.
Affiliate Curator of Archaeology
Archaeologist
King County Historic Preservation
400 Yesler Way, Suite 510
Seattle WA, 98104
206-296-5217
philippe.letourneau@kingcounty.gov

Dennis E. Lewarch
Burke Museum Curatorial Associate
Tribal Historic Preservation Officer
Fisheries Department
Suquamish Tribe
P.O. Box 498
Suquamish, WA 98392
360-394-8529
dlewarch@suquamish.nsn.us

Jennie Deo Shaw
Burke Museum Curatorial Associate
Proposal Coordinator
SWCA Environmental Consultants
206-356-6563
jshaw@swca.com